Caernarfon Award

The Caernarfon Award is presented annually for the best paper given at an Institute conference, seminar, meeting etc. anywhere in the world which is adjudged to have contributed the most to the advancement of some aspect of the industry - either technical, environmental, strategic, etc.

Originally, the Caernarfon Award was endowed by the North Wales branch and it is named after the town where the very first Institute meeting took place in 1917. The endowed sum was residual income from the branch's successful seminar on the Quarries (Explosives) Regulations in 1987. The first award was made in 1989.

The award has been made by Council in the UK in the past, but in 1998, responsibility for the adjudication was assumed by the Presidents' Committee.

2019/20 Caernarfon Award Winner

IQA member Sean Taylor is the 2019/20 winner of the prestigious Caernarfon Award.

The Caernarfon Award is the highest international award that the Institute of Quarrying (IQ) awards annually to the best conference presentation in that year. Since 1989, the Caernarfon Award is presented to someone who the international IQ Presidents have adjudged to have contributed the most to the advancement of the science and practise of the quarrying industry.

Sean Taylor, CEO & MD at Komatsu Australia, presented at the 2019 conference in Geelong. His presentation - Let's Talk about Diversity and Inclusion - openly shared Komatsu's journey to improve diversity and inclusion across their organisation and provided valuable lessons on leadership through the "Say Again?" campaign lead by Sean and senior managers at Komatsu. Sean's presentation received outstanding feedback and the most follow up and interest.

The IQA nominated Sean for the Caernarfon Award based on the quality of the presentation, feedback and what he is doing to help shape the industry.

The International Presidents from all IQ offices judged the award, with overwhelming support for the topic, the style in which he shared the information and the outcome he is achieving to bring real change.

International IQ Presidents include Phil Redmond (UK), Dean Torstonson (New Zealand, Lee Kam Fatt (Malaysia), Ng Heong-chen (Hong Kong), Lazarus Meko (South Africa) and Shane Braddy (Institute of Quarrying Australia)